( Guide · Ecommerce · Oman )
Payment gateways in Oman compared: how to accept Omani cards online (2026)
By OGB Labs · Published
What an online store in Oman needs to accept
Omani debit cards come first. The Central Bank of Oman runs the OmanNet switch and a national payment gateway for e-commerce payments made with debit cards issued in Oman. Stores reach it through an acquiring bank or a payment service provider that connects to it. So the first question for any gateway is whether it accepts Omani debit cards.
Visa and Mastercard cover credit cards and visitors, Apple Pay is offered by some gateways, and cash on delivery stays for customers who prefer to pay at the door.
This guide is general information as of October 2026, not legal or financial advice, and rules, fees and features change.
Gateways available to Omani merchants, compared
Every cell comes from the provider's own pages, checked in October 2026. Thawani: payment gateway, business portal, licence. Amwal Pay: Amwal Pay website, developer docs, Amwal Pay Shopify app. Paymob: Oman pricing, Paymob Shopify app, WooCommerce plugin. Bank Muscat: merchant solutions, merchant application form. Other acquiring banks in Oman connect merchants to the national gateway too, so ask your own bank as well.
| Criteria | Thawani | Amwal Pay | Paymob | Bank Muscat gateway |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who it is | Omani payment service provider licensed by the Central Bank of Oman | Omani gateway by Amwal Alraqamia LLC, Muscat | Regional provider with an Oman site and pricing in OMR | The bank's own payments gateway for merchants |
| Omani debit cards | Yes: local and international debit and credit cards | Yes: local and international credit and debit cards | Yes: OmanNet is named on its pricing page | Yes: Oman Net cards are a card type on its merchant form |
| Visa and Mastercard | Yes | International cards accepted; networks not named | Yes | Bank Muscat and other bank cards; American Express optional |
| Apple Pay | Yes: set in the business portal, with Google Pay | Yes: Apple Pay guides in its developer docs | Activated by Paymob on request | Not stated; ask the bank |
| Shopify | No app in the Shopify App Store | Yes: free app, launched May 2025 | Yes: app is free to install | Not in Shopify's provider list for Oman |
| WooCommerce | No plugin on its own site; third-party plugins exist | Yes: official plugin | Yes: official plugin | Not stated; ask the bank |
| Custom site | REST API, hosted payment page, SDKs, webhooks | REST API, mobile SDKs, webhooks | API and hosted checkout | Hosted secure payment page |
| Published fees | None published; pay-as-you-go by quote | No setup fees; card rates not published | 1.5% OmanNet, 2.5% Visa and Mastercard; no monthly fee | Set-up fee, monthly fee and commission set in the merchant form |
| Documents asked | ID, bank statement, commercial registration, application and agreement forms | Commercial registration and ID card, then a signed contract | Not listed on its Oman site | Commercial registration, Chamber certificate, ID, bank statement, municipality licence |
How to get a gateway approved
Commercial registration. Thawani, Amwal Pay and Bank Muscat all ask for it. If you sell online you also need the Ministry's e-commerce licence in Oman, and the regulation behind it requires stores to take payments through a bank or payment provider licensed in Oman.
An Omani bank account in the business name. The Central Bank's OmanNet gateway service page states that the merchant must hold an account with a licensed local bank.
ID of the owner or authorised signatory, plus the provider's application and agreement forms.
A live website with delivery, returns, refunds, privacy and terms pages in English and Arabic. Gateways check for them.
Integrate in the sandbox, then test real orders before launch: an Omani debit card, a Visa or Mastercard, a refund and a failed payment.
Fees: what is published and what is not
Most gateway fees in Oman are quoted, not published. Thawani describes a pay-as-you-go model and gives no rate. Amwal Pay states no setup fees and gives no card rate. Bank Muscat writes its fees and commission per card type into each merchant's form.
Two figures are public. The Central Bank's OmanNet gateway service lists a maximum service fee for the private sector of 1.5% of the transaction value, capped at OMR 10 (Gov.om service page, checked October 2026). Paymob's standard plan shows 1.5% for OmanNet and 2.5% for Visa and Mastercard per transaction, with no monthly fee and weekly settlement (Paymob Oman pricing, checked October 2026). The FAQ on the same Paymob page quotes a different standard figure, so get the rate in your contract.
On Shopify there is one more cost: Shopify charges its own third-party transaction fee when a store uses a gateway other than Shopify Payments, and the rate depends on your plan.
Shopify, WooCommerce or a custom store
Shopify Payments is not available in Oman. Oman is not on Shopify's list of supported countries, so a Shopify store in Oman takes cards through a third-party provider. Shopify's own payment provider list, filtered to Oman in October 2026, includes Amwal Pay, Paymob, Amazon Payment Services, Tap Payments, MyFatoorah, Telr and Checkout.com. Thawani is not on that list. Stripe does not list Oman among its supported countries either.
WooCommerce stores can use the official Amwal Pay or Paymob plugins. A headless or custom store integrates the gateway's API directly: a hosted payment page, 3-D Secure, webhooks for payment status, and refunds. Our guide to Shopify vs a custom ecommerce store covers when each platform fits.
Cash on delivery and payment links
- Keep cash on delivery next to cards. On Shopify it is a standard manual payment method. It needs its own process for confirmation, refused orders and cash reconciliation.
- Confirm cash orders on WhatsApp before dispatch to cut refused deliveries.
- If you sell on Instagram or WhatsApp without a website, a payment link does the job. Thawani's payment link is created in its merchant tools, is valid for 24 hours, and the customer pays by card without a Thawani account. Amwal Pay and Bank Muscat offer payment links too.
How OGB Labs helps
OGB Labs integrates Omani payment gateways, including Thawani, Amwal Pay and bank gateways, on Shopify, headless and custom stores. We choose the gateway with you based on fees, settlement times and your bank, set up cash on delivery and a full Arabic storefront, and test real orders through every payment path before launch.
You get a fixed price before we start. Shopify stores start from OMR 100 and go live in one to two weeks. See ecommerce development in Oman, our step-by-step guide on how to start an online store in Oman, and what an online store costs in 2026. Selling in the UAE as well? Read payment gateways in the UAE.
( FAQ )
Questions people ask.
Which payment gateway is best in Oman?
The one that accepts Omani debit cards and international cards, connects to your store platform and suits your order size on fees. On Shopify, Amwal Pay and Paymob both have apps. For a custom site, Thawani, Amwal Pay and bank gateways offer an API or hosted payment page.
Does Shopify Payments work in Oman?
No. Oman is not on Shopify's list of supported countries for Shopify Payments. Shopify stores in Oman use a third-party gateway plus cash on delivery.
Does Stripe work in Oman?
No. Oman is not among the countries on Stripe's supported list (checked October 2026).
What are Thawani's payment gateway fees?
Thawani does not publish its gateway rates. Its site describes a pay-as-you-go model, so ask Thawani for a written quote.
Can I accept Apple Pay in Oman?
Yes, through a gateway that supports it. Thawani's business portal has payment settings for Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Amwal Pay's developer docs cover Apple Pay.
What documents do I need for a payment gateway in Oman?
A commercial registration, the owner's or signatory's ID, an Omani bank account or statement, and the provider's application and agreement forms. Banks may also ask for a Chamber of Commerce certificate and a municipality licence.
Can I take card payments in Oman without a website?
Yes. Thawani, Amwal Pay and Bank Muscat offer payment links you send by WhatsApp, SMS or email. You still need a merchant account, which requires a commercial registration.
( Related )
Service · 04
Ecommerce
Stores built to sell: storefronts that feel like your brand, a checkout people finish and inventory that stays in sync.
Muscat · Oman
Mobile app development company in Oman
Muscat · Oman
Software development company in Oman
Muscat · Oman
Multivendor marketplace development in Oman
Guide · Ecommerce · Oman
How to build a multivendor marketplace in Oman
Guide · Ecommerce · Oman
Oman VAT registration for online sellers
Guide · Ecommerce · Oman
Oman consumer protection rules for online stores
( Next step )
Want this done for you?
Tell us what you are building. We reply within one business day.

